Highlights: The 2019 Annual IP Champions Gala

This week, the Global Innovation Policy Center hosted our annual IP Champions Gala. Each year, the event acknowledges the bright minds who advance humanity’s capacity for growth and encourages innovation among IP professionals and advocates. These IP Champions have captured our imaginations, enriched our lives, created jobs, and diversified the economy – both here in the United States and internationally. This year the theme was “Creating the Next Frontier” and we celebrated those who are furthering human innovation and pushing the boundaries of human knowledge.

This year’s IP Champs emcee was Darius, a number one platinum-selling recording artist, producer, and tech-philanthropist who serves as the Prince Charles’ Ambassador for The Prince’s Trust. We were honored to have so many distinguished individuals who were recognized, some of the highlights include:

In honor of our quest to support professionals creating the next frontier, the 2019 New Frontier award was presented to Gerald D. “Gerry” Griffin, Former Director, NASA Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center and Apollo Flight Director, Mission Control; Captain Kay Hire, Retired US Navy and NASA Astronaut; and Nancy Conrad, Founding Chairman of the Conrad Foundation.

The Award for Excellence in Innovation was presented to Jim Glickenhaus, Founder, Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus; Emanuele Musini, Co-Founder and CEO of Pillo Health; and Sheila Gujrathi, M.D., President and CEO of Gossamer Bio, Inc.

The winners of the 2019 Award for Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion in the Creative Arts were several members of the team behind blockbuster hit “Crazy Rich Asians,” producers John Penotti and Janice Chua, costume designer Mary Vogt, actor Chris Pang, and music producer Cheapshot.

The 2019 Excellence in Creativity Award was presented to Grammy award-winning singer and songwriter Chris DeStefano and country music artist Chris Janson – who both treated the audience to stunning live performances.


The 2019 Excellence in Enforcement Award was presented to Marc Dagorn, Deputy Executive Assistant Commissioner, French Customs Agency; and Karine Boris-Treille, Executive Director, French Customs Agency.

The Hedy Lamarr Award was presented to Rhita Boufelliga, who serves as the Senior Director of Product Delivery at Harman International Industries Inc.

Our annual IP Champions Gala gives us the opportunity to

acknowledge the tremendous work being done to strengthen IP rights for creators and innovators across every sector of our economy. It is also a moment to inspire innovation and growth in the IP sector. We appreciate all of our attendees for helping us make this night truly special.

Chris Janson closes the night with a knock-out performance

Subscribe for updates from GIPC